Monday, July 27, 2009
IAB MIXX Awards 2009 to be Selected by a Who’s Who of Marketers, Agencies & Publishers

Industry’s Leaders Gather to Judge the Best in Interactive Advertising

New York, NY (July 27, 2009)—The transformative effect of the Internet on advertising and marketing has resulted in new calls for a revolution in interactive creativity. One of the leading voices appealing for great creative online, the Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) today announced that it had convened an expert panel to select the industry’s best work for the 2009 MIXX Awards, one of advertising’s most sought-after honors.

“The MIXX Awards is the only advertising recognition that honors creativity and impact,” said Randall Rothenberg, President and CEO of the IAB. “The MIXX judges engage in a unique evaluation process, diving into creative executions and the real results of advertising campaigns. When a campaign makes an emotional connection with a consumer and drives sales, that’s the successful combination we want to acknowledge.”

The winners of the 2009 MIXX Awards, now in its fifth year, will be announced at a gala dinner hosted by comedian Jim Breuer on September 22, during Advertising Week. The panel of judges selecting the winners includes leaders from all aspects of the industry:

Maria Arbusto – Director, Digital Strategy, IBM Corporation
Doug Chavez – Senior Manager, Digital Marketing, Del Monte Foods
Cheryl Guerin – SVP, Group Head, Global Digital Marketing, MasterCard Worldwide
Andy Markowitz – Director, Digital Marketing, Kraft Foods
David Roman – VP, WW Marketing Communications, Personal Systems Group, Hewlett-Packard Company
Debbie Jo Severin – CMO, 8x8, Inc.
Heidi Marie Youngkin – Executive Director, Global Marketing Group, Johnson & Johnson
Paul Alexander, Senior Vice President Managing Director, Communications, Liberty Mutual Group

Lincoln Bjorkman – Executive Vice President, Executive Creative Director, Digitas New York
Andreas Combuechen – Chairman/Chief Executive Officer/Chief Creative Officer, Atmosphere Proximity
Marty Cooke – Chief Creative Officer, SS+K
Marc Lucas – Executive Creative Director, Razorfish
Jean-Philippe Maheu – Chief Digital Officer, Ogilvy North America
Alan Schulman – Founder & Chief Creative Officer, U . D I G > The Digital Innovations Group
Baba Shetty – EVP, Chief Media Officer, Hill, Holliday Advertising

Heidi Browning – Senior Vice President, Insights & Planning, MySpace
Jane Grenier – Vice President and Executive Director, Creative Services, Condé Nast Digital
Wonya Lucas – EVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Discovery Communications
Suzie Reider – Head of Advertising, YouTube
Mitch Spolan – Vice President, North American Field Sales, Yahoo!
David Sturman – Principal Architect, Massive (part of Microsoft Advertising)

“Once again this year, the MIXX Awards will be judged by an extraordinary cross section of leading industry marketers, agencies and web publishers.” said David Doty, SVP, Thought Leadership and Marketing at the IAB. “The diverse panel of judges who’ve accepted our invitation are truly experts in their respective fields, and we are honored to have their involvement in this critical process.”

The ceremony announcing the winners is an integral part of the IAB’s annual MIXX Conference and Expo, the official interactive event of Advertising Week, a gathering of the media and marketing industries that typically draws 10,000 professionals to conferences, seminars, recruiting events, and parties celebrating advertising and its evolution. This year’s MIXX Awards host, comedian Jim Breuer, is best known for his memorable Saturday Night Live characters such as “Goat Boy” and for his starring role in the cult classic film Half Baked.

The MIXX Awards are open to marketers and advertising agencies that have run any media, marketing or advertising campaign that was carried out during the qualifying period: April 1, 2008 through March 31, 2009. Full details are available at

Founded in 2005 to honor creativity and effectiveness in interactive advertising, the IAB’s MIXX Awards have grown into the premier honor in digital marketing. Last year’s MIXX Award winners included many of the most prominent brand marketers in the United States, including Adobe, American Express, BMW, Dell, HBO, ING of the Americas, McDonalds, and Proctor & Gamble, as well as leading agencies such as BBDO, Digitas, Ogilvy, McKinney, R/GA . In 2008, the gala’s ultimate honor, Best in Show, went to TEQUILA/ and Nissan for the Rogue Launch.

To view the complete gallery of the 2008 MIXX finalists, please visit:

About the IAB:
The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) is comprised of more than 375 leading media and technology companies who are responsible for selling 86% of online advertising in the United States. On behalf of its members, the IAB is dedicated to the growth of the interactive advertising marketplace, of interactive’s share of total marketing spend, and of its members’ share of total marketing spend. The IAB educates marketers, agencies, media companies and the wider business community about the value of interactive advertising. Working with its member companies, the IAB evaluates and recommends standards and practices and fields critical research on interactive advertising. Founded in 1996, the IAB is headquartered in New York City with a Public Policy office in Washington, D.C. For more information, please visit

IAB Media Contact:
Marla Aaron
[email protected]