Wednesday, June 9, 2010
Leaders From Across Interactive Industry Assemble to Judge IAB MIXX Awards 2010

New Categories Reflect Explosive Innovation and Celebrate
Fresh Era in Marketing & Advertising

New York, NY (June 9, 2010)— In an age when ground-breaking technologies and transformative platforms are redefining creativity in marketing and advertising, when consumers’ brand experiences are being refashioned in new ways, the Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) today announced a stellar panel of judges for the 2010 IAB MIXX Awards. The cross-industry assembly brings together senior agency, marketer and publisher voices to collaboratively evaluate and select the brands and agencies who will win one of advertising’s most sought-after honors. The IAB also announced that it has revised and expanded the MIXX Awards to recognize not only distinguished campaigns but also single executions in such new categories as Experimental and Innovative, Mobile Apps and Viral, reflecting the vibrancy of interactive advertising. The announcement was made at the IAB’s newly launched symposium, IAB Innovation Days: Content Conquers All, a two-day event that melds together IAB’s interactive and marketing content expertise with Internet Week, the annual weeklong series of events spotlighting New York City’s role as a leader in the digital and media industries.

“In what has been a remarkable year for interactive creativity, the professionals who’ve agreed to judge this year’s MIXX Awards are among the industry’s foremost experts on what differentiates outstanding advertising,” said Randall Rothenberg, President and CEO of the IAB. “We are honored to have their involvement in this important industry mark of distinction.”

The winners of the 2010 MIXX Awards, now in its sixth year, will be announced at a gala dinner on September 28, near the start of New York City’s Advertising Week, a gathering of the media and marketing industries that typically draws 10,000 professionals to conferences, seminars and parties celebrating advertising and its evolution.

The 2010 MIXX Awards panel includes:

  • Mathias Appelblad – Executive Creative Director & Director of Innovation, BBDO New York
  • Jeff Benjamin – Interactive Creative Director, Crispin Porter + Bogusky‚Ä®
  • Lincoln Bjorkman – EVP, Executive Creative Director, Digitas New York
  • Heidi Browning – EVP, Global Digital Officer, UM
  • Doug Chavez – Senior Manager, Digital Marketing, Del Monte Foods
  • Erin Clift - SVP, Global Sales Development, AOL
  • Andreas Combuechen – Chairman/CEO/Chief Creative Officer, Atmosphere Proximity
  • Marty Cooke – Chief Creative Officer & Partner, SS+K
  • Mark D'Arcy – President & Chief Creative Officer, Time Warner Global Media Group, and SVP, Time Warner
  • Maylinn De La Maza – Account Director, Zubi Advertising
  • Marjorie D. Dufek – Interactive Marketing Director, Brown-Forman Corporation
  • Marc Fonzetti –  Advertising Manager & Internet Specialist, Reckitt Benckiser
  • Jane Grenier – VP, Executive Director, Creative Services, Condé Nast Digital
  • Cheryl Guerin – SVP, Group Head, Global Digital Marketing, MasterCard Worldwide
  • Brian Hunt – Senior Creative Director, Yahoo!
  • Marc Lucas – Chief Creative Officer, kirshenbaum bond senecal + partners
  • Wonya Lucas – EVP & CMO, Discovery Communications
  • Jean-Philippe Maheu – CEO, Publicis Modem
  • Andy Markowitz – Director, Global Digital Strategy, GE, Corporate Commercial and Communications
  • Benjamin Palmer – Co-Founder, CEO, Barbarian Group
  • Suzie Reider – Head of Ad Sales, YouTube & Google Display
  • David Roman – SVP & CMO, Lenovo
  • Alan Schulman – Founder & Chief Creative Officer, U . D I G > The Digital Innovations Group
  • Baba Shetty – EVP, Chief Media Officer, Hill Holliday
  • Marla Skiko – SVP, Director of Digital Innovation, SMG Multicultural
  • Rick Song – Senior Director, Eastern U.S. Sales, Microsoft Advertising
  • Steve Wax – Managing Director, Campfire
  • Lauren Wiener – SVP, Meredith Interactive Media
  • Heidi Marie Youngkin – Senior Director, Corporate Communication, Johnson & Johnson 

“This year’s MIXX Awards will spotlight the brands and individuals who are driving advertising creativity in new and exciting directions,” said David Doty, SVP, Thought Leadership & Marketing, at the IAB. “The MIXX Awards recognize the diversity of platforms and technologies that have forever changed advertising, and our panel of judges are themselves true experts and innovators in the field.”

The MIXX Awards are open to marketers and advertising agencies that have run any media, marketing or advertising campaign that was carried out during the qualifying period: April 1, 2009 through March 31, 2010. Full details are available at

Founded in 2005 to honor creativity and effectiveness in interactive advertising, the IAB’s MIXX Awards have grown into the premier honor in digital marketing. Last year’s MIXX Award winners included many of the most prominent brand marketers in the United States, including Adobe, American Express, HBO, IBM, Pizza Hut and Proctor & Gamble, as well as leading agencies such as BBDO, Digitas, JWT, Ogilvy, and RAPP. In 2009, the gala’s ultimate honor, Best in Show, went to Tourism Queensland and CumminsNitro Brisbane for “The Best Job in the World.”

To view the complete gallery of the 2009 MIXX finalists, please visit:

About the IAB:
The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) is comprised of more than 460 leading media and technology companies who are responsible for selling 86% of online advertising in the United States. On behalf of its members, the IAB is dedicated to the growth of the interactive advertising marketplace, of interactive’s share of total marketing spend, and of its members’ share of total marketing spend. The IAB educates marketers, agencies, media companies and the wider business community about the value of interactive advertising. Working with its member companies, the IAB evaluates and recommends standards and practices and fields critical research on interactive advertising. Founded in 1996, the IAB is headquartered in New York City with a Public Policy office in Washington, D.C. For more information, please visit

IAB Media Contact:
Marla Aaron
[email protected]