Monday, October 30, 2006

Continuing its Drive to Build the Interactive Marketplace

NEW YORK, NY (October 30, 2006) – The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) announced the creation of the IAB Mobile Committee at the IAB Leadership Forum: Agency Summit today. As an extension of the IAB's overall mission, to increase the share of advertising and marketing dollars that Interactive media captures in the marketplace, the IAB Mobile Committee will focus on developing mobile as a viable advertising platform for marketers and agencies.

With an estimated 229 million subscribers in the U.S. and 2.1 billion worldwide (eMarketer, 2006), marketers are exploring creative ways to tap into this rapidly increasing market and touch their consumers anywhere and anytime. As with all emerging and new media, it is imperative to lay the foundation for sustainable growth.

The IAB Mobile Committee will focus on the following priorities:

  • Building a more effective and efficient advertising platform through the development and endorsement of measurement guidelines, creative guidelines and best practices.
  • Proving and promoting the effectiveness of mobile advertising.
  • Helping to grow revenues.
  • Advocating for the mobile advertising industry.

"We created the IAB Mobile Committee in response to the needs of IAB members," said Sheryl Draizen, SVP, General Manager, Interactive Advertising Bureau. "Supporting the arsenal of Interactive ad supported platforms including mobile, helps our members leverage their existing systems and infrastructure to expand their offerings for their clients."

The IAB is the leading trade association for the Interactive Advertising industry and has successfully launched global impression measurement guidelines, creative guidelines, best practices and research for the online industry. The IAB Mobile Committee is open to all IAB members.

The founding member companies of the Mobile Committee and their representatives include:

Committee Chair: Gary Schwartz, Impact Mobile
Air2Web – Alfredo Narez
AOL – Laura Lasiter
CBS Digital Media – Paul Chita – Stephanie Vautravers
Commercetel – Steve Cherry
DoubleClick, Inc. – Ari Paparo
Enpocket – Diana LaGattuta
Eyeblaster – Ran Cohen – Marissa O’Hare
Google, Inc. – Deep Nishar
Hachette Filipacchi Media – Olivier Griot
Hearst Magazines – Sophia Stuart
Media General – Tim Repsher
Microsoft Digital Advertising Solutions – Sloan Ginn
NBC Universal – Gali Einav
New York Times Digital – Nithya Sowrirajan
Reuters – Joe Cohen
Third Screen Media – Brian Stoller – Michael Nappi
Variety – Dea Lawrence
Verizon – Tony Plec
Walt Disney Internet Group – April Schifman
Weather Channel Interactive – Cameron Clayton
WeatherBug – Andy Jedynak – Craig Paris
Yahoo! – John Kelly

About IAB:
Founded in 1996, the Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) represents over 300 leading interactive companies that are actively engaged in, and support the sale of interactive advertising. IAB members are responsible for selling over 86% of online advertising in the United States. On behalf of its members, the IAB evaluates and recommends standards and practices, fields interactive effectiveness research and educates the advertising industry regarding the use of interactive advertising. For more information, please visit

For further information please contact:

Interactive Advertising Bureau
Marla Nitke
Director, Marketing Communications
[email protected]